Koonz, McKenney, Johnson, DePaolis & Lightfoot, LLP
District of Columbia D.C. (202) 796-3291
Virginia VA (703) 498-2928
Maryland MD (301) 637-4614
se habla español
Call today for your free consultation
ES
se habla español
Back
Experienced at winning cases for people who need justice
Washington DC Personal injury law firm

When Is The Right Time To Give Notice To Your Employer For Workers Comp?

Posted on July 2, 2018 to

In the state of Virginia you have 30 days to give notice to your employer if you are injured on the job. You need to give an accident form or anything that lets the employer know that you got hurt. All the information on the form needs to be correct or your entitlement to benefits could be affected. Consult with an attorney to know all the information you need if you are injured on the job.

Click image to play video

Video Transcription

So, in Virginia technically you have 30 days to give notice to your employer, however most employers have shortened time periods in which they need their, is called an employer’s first report of accident form, or something that lets the employer know that you’ve got hurt. And that could even be a shorter time period, so the employee needs to understand what their employer requires. Also, in terms of giving notice about an injury by accident, if somebody were to complete a form and it had incorrect information on it, or most significantly didn’t describe the injury appropriately it could affect your entitlement to benefits permanently. I would highly recommend anybody who got hurt at work to at least consult with an attorney if it’s not an issue which requires a legal assistance hopefully the attorney would say that and encourage the person to go forward. But still, give information about some key information to be sure to include on the forms. For more information please go to our website Koonz.com