Koonz, McKenney, Johnson & DePaolis LLP
District of Columbia D.C. (202) 796-3291
Virginia VA (703) 498-2928
Maryland MD (301) 637-4614
se habla español
Call today for your free consultation
se habla español
Experienced at winning cases for people who need justice
Washington DC Personal injury law firm

Former Voice for Veterans Dies in Car Crash

Posted on March 10, 2011 to

A 69-year-old Hagerstown man suffered a fatal injury last month when his pickup truck crossed the median on Interstate 70 and crashed into a parked bus. The car accident occurred near the Big Pool exit, and Maryland State Police pronounced him dead at the scene. The victim was Ray S. Linebaugh, former head of the Joint Veterans Council of Washington County. Another vehicle crashed while trying to avoid the accident, and emergency workers took the driver and two passengers to the hospital.

Investigators do not know why Linebaugh’s pickup crossed the median from the westbound lane before colliding with the bus, which had stopped on the shoulder because of transmission problems. Eighteen people were aboard the bus, which was bound for Pittsburgh from Washington, D.C.. Emergency responders took three of the passengers to the hospital for minor injuries.

A bus passenger estimated that Linebaugh’s truck was traveling at approximately 60 to 70 miles per hour before impact. The collision disabled the bus’ door and the passengers exited through the emergency door in the rear.

The victim served in the Air Force during the Vietnam war and was instrumental in implementing legislation that allowed veterans to receive their high school diplomas if they left school to enlist. He also advocated for construction of a Veterans Memorial Wall at Martin L. Snook Memorial Park in Halfway. While serving in Vietnam, Linebaugh received the bronze star for valor in combat.

If you or a loved one suffers injuries in an automobile accident, a Maryland personal injury lawyer can help you pursue a potential claim. Contact a Maryland personal injury attorney at Koonz, McKenney, Johnson, DePaolis & Lightfoot.